Nitin Gupta appointed chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes


New Delhi: The Central Cabinet has appointed Nitin Gupta as the new chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes.

Nitin Gupta, a 1986 Badge Indian Revenue Officer, is currently a member of the Board of Inquiry into the Direct Taxes Board. He will remain president until his retirement in September next year. J.P., who has been chairman of the Central Direct Taxes Board. Following Mohapatra’s retirement on April 30, another IRS officer, Sangeeta Singh, was given an additional charge in May.

Nitin Gupta

In September 2021, Gupta took office as a member of the Board of Inquiry. Prior to that, the post was vacant for three years. Former leaders PC Modi, Sushil Chandra, Mohapatra, and Singh were given extra charge.

The Central Direct Taxes Board will have a chairman and 6 members. Currently, there are 5 members. Anuja Sarangi, a badge officer since 1985, has been a senior member. The other members are Pragya Sahai Saxena and Subasree Ananthkrishnan, both 1987 Badge Officers. All of them have the status of Special Secretary.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here